Skip to content

Blackbird Forest

August 25, 2009

This weekend a friend contacted me and asked if I’d like to go hiking/shooting in Blackbird Forest. I’d never heard of it before but it’s about midway between my home and his. My friend brought his nine year old son along. He has plans to upgrade his camera body in the next couple of months and begin letting his son use the old one.

Since I already have two bodies, I offered to let his son use one of mine this weekend. Even when I only had one camera, I’ve never been especially shy about letting people use it as long as they handle it properly. My friend thought I was a little nuts. Most people tend to think that.

The boy respected the value of the equipment, took good care of it and really had a great deal of fun taking pictures with us. I’ve seen some of the pictures he took and they only confirm what I’d already observed several times before; kids have an innate sense of artistry. It sometimes needs refinement and they usually need technical skills to fully express it, but it’s almost always there.

Jonathan

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 8:20 pm

    That comment that kids have an innate sense of artistry is over generalized. I’ve been taking pictures since I got my first Brownie box camera when I was seven. I didn’t have any artistry then, and, after taking hundreds of thousandns of pictures, reading lots of photo books and articles, and taking some classes in the subsequent 58 years, I still don’t. But I keep trying.

    Henry

Leave a Reply

