Skip to content

Definition of Luck

August 7, 2009

There are a couple of quotes regarding luck that I’ve always appreciated and used to guide my adult life. I don’t know for certain who coined these, nor am I 100% certain of their wording, but this is how I know them and how they influence me.

  • Luck favors the prepared.
  • Luck is where preparation meets opportunity.
  • It’s better to be good than lucky.

There are lots of quotes that, at one time or another help guide me in making life’s choices. These are just the ones that come to mind pertaining to luck.

I bring all this up because of my activities over the last week. I’ve been on a vacation of sorts. We didn’t go anywhere big but we have taken day trips almost every day. Downstate Delaware, Northern New Jersey, Washington DC, rural Maryland…

This morning, despite being on vacation, I was up and out the door before 5:30am. I went on a scouting expedition. I am doing a shooting assignment next weekend that will take place in the early morning hours in a location that is only semi-familiar to me. So I got up and went to scout what the light and other conditions would be like at that time of day.

I’m really looking forward to next weekend and fully expect to come back with some fantastic shots. If I do, I will credit that largely to luck. That is, to having taken the time to prepare and be fully ready when opportunity presented itself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

