Skip to content

Thoughts on EXIF

July 24, 2009

It’s been a very busy week. I’ve spent much of it working on things behind the scenes in support of our new web site, which is finally beginning to take shape.

As I was working on an article yesterday, I needed some example shots so I dragged my daughter out to the back yard to snap a few. Although the setting (what the camera captured) wasn’t really crucial, many of the technical aspects were. In particular, I needed some highly technical information about lens settings for each shot.

I was all prepared to have to take exacting measurements and do detailed lookups of technical specs. Before I started down that path, I took a flyer and used one of the tools I have for reading EXIF data. Lo and behold! Everything I needed was right there.

Isn’t technology wonderful? Whoever it was that came up with the concept to have digital cameras automatically record all this data and embed it into the image file was a genius.

In almost every one of my workshops we end up talking about EXIF data and I show people the easiest way to get to the most commonly used bits of information. When more is called for, more specialized tools may be necessary but it’s comforting to know that it’s all there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

