Skip to content

TtV (Through the Viewfinder)

July 20, 2009

For several weeks now I’ve been putting out the call in my weekly newsletters for old cameras. Preferably non-functional old cameras. Preferably medium and large format. I’ve had some inquiries but so far nothing that meets all of my criteria. I am willing to pay for them, up to a certain point. The reason I want non-functioning old cameras is that I plan on tearing them apart and turning them into something out of a sci-fi movie. I couldn’t, in all good conscience, do that to a perfectly good camera.

Here is an example of what I did to one camera that was severely non-functional.

1_6290962

1_6290963

Sure, I destroyed a relic but I’ve also given it new life. What was once a piece of derelict old junk now lives to take pictures again. Here is just one of the photos I’ve taken with the new contraption.

3_7051682

It is purposely supposed to have that vintage, old feel to it. That’s part of the charm. Some people don’t care for this style but I think it can be fun to play with, provided you are dealing with the right kind of subject matter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

